Farmer’s market and cabbage cake

Low carb cabbage cake

Image credit: Cabbage cake

I found a great recipe online: Cabbage Cake and wanted to make it so I went to the local farmer’s market to get some ingredients needed. Doesn’t it look fabulous? Besides it is very easy to make it – a 10 year old can do it – really. See the recipe and instructions by following the link above. What I also found fascinating about this recipe is that it is gluten free and low carb. As I’m trying to lose weight at the moment this is an added bonus.

I don’t know about you, but I just love buying at  the local market.  I buy 80% of my “food supply” here. I get to meet the farmers, can touch or smell their products and when I have time I also chat with them. I can choose what I buy, so surely I will get only first class stuff in my basket.  Needless to say sometimes I get great discounts just for talking to them – or so I think.

The other thing I love about this is that I can buy organic products – I’m quite choosy in this aspect, I don’t want any fertilizers or chemicals in my body. If you haven’t tried eating organic fruit or vegetables you don’t even know how huge the difference is in taste and nutrition!

So here we go, ready to make this dish. How about you? Do you like this recipe and/or would you try it?

 

About hovirag

I'm a health geek :) I teach chikung (qigong) and am interested in allkinds of natural, organic products.

Posted on October 2, 2013, in healthy lifestyle, healthy living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the recipe. I’d try it but my husband doesn’t like coconut- its too sweet for him. I wonder what else we could substitute? And I agree, real organic food tastes divine:)

  2. That sounds like a fun recipe. I never would have thought of trying something like that with cabbage. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • yes, it is not a common recipe but I can tell you that it is very tasty! I once made one for my colleagues and they were intrigued first then wanted the recipe because they loved it 🙂

  3. I just might have to try this next time I get cabbage in my CSA basket . . . although I do adore making cole slaw with it.

Share your thoughts here

